Tracking my Posts from Facebook

 

Since President Trump’s inauguration, I feel like I’ve been using facebook as a kind of short-form blog. I’ve written one or two actual blog entries since then, but most of my thoughts have been posted to Facebook. A big downside of this is that it will be difficult to find those posts later. So here’s a little archive of what I’ve been saying on Facebook for the past ten days. (Not included are a few of the links I shared and the two posts  – yes, only two posts – that weren’t related to the current political situation.)

1/20/17 12:07 pm

What I was doing at noon today: assembling my sign for tomorrow’s March. Photo is of the sign I will be wearing, along with the tape and pencil I was using to finish it up. This side of the sign reads “we are our brothers’ and or sisters’ keepers.” The other side (not pictured) reads “this is not normal.” President Trump, we are ready to fight. (Even if I’m crying a little as I type those two words next to each other.)

img_7993

1/21/17 12:46 am (1/22)

Abraham Joshua Heschel talked about how, when he marched in Selma, he felt that his feet were praying. Well, 5th Avenue definitely isn’t Selma. (A big difference is that I was never worried for my safety.) But I prayed with my feet today, and I prayed hard. I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to march, first with a group of over 1,000 Jews, beginning on the Upper West Side, and then joining in with 400,000 other people (or so the latest estimates say) as the Women’s March turned north up 5th Ave. My feet got to pray for four and a half hours, down 46 street blocks, across four avenues, and up another ten street blocks. Google Maps says we walked 3.6 miles – and that was just the part where we were marching. I’ve never been surrounded by so many people, and I returned from the march feeling energized. Trump thinks he has a mandate? No. *we’re* the ones with the mandate. Now, let’s get out there and get stuff done.

1/22/17 4:40 pm

Saw this via NAME REDACTED. Yesterday, we protested when it was easy. We need to remember to protest when it’s hard too. And we need to remember to protest when other people’s lives and well-being are on the line, not just our own.

Also, we need to remember that protesting is just a first step.

[Included link to this facebook post.]

1/23/17: 6:59 am

I heard from a friend that Senators Burr, Paul, Collins, and Murkowski have strong reservations about confirming Betsy DeVos. If you live in Alaska, North Carolina, Maine, or Kentucky, please, please, please call them and ask them not to confirm her! I am a public school special ed teacher and she terrifies me. (Also, the only facebook friend I can think of who lives in one of those states is NAME REDACTED, so please also reshare this information.)

1/23/17: 10:01 pm

Thing I just saw on Twitter. Trust me, you want to read it:

[Included link to craigslist ad: Cards Against Humanity is Hiring a CEO!]

[For text from Craigslist, see end of post.]

1/24/17: 3:36 pm

Achievement unlocked: actually succeeded in calling my Senator.

Left a message for Sen. Gillibrand at her Buffalo office. She hasn’t yet said she’s voting against Devos. I think she will, but if you live in NY, please, please call her. She has lots of NY numbers and it doesn’t matter which one you use. (Can’t add the numbers in while posting on my phone or I would.

Edited to add: just found out that she has now declared she will vote against. Phew! (thanks to the commenters below for the update.)

Further edit: while I posted this after she posted to Facebook, my call was a few hours beforehand. It’s just that I didn’t get to post to Facebook until later.

1/24/17: 6:55 pm

Is there a website I can check that will tell me whether each of my congresspeople has come out in support of or against various bills and/or confirmations? I’m currently relying on what other people post to facebook, and that doesn’t seem very efficient.

1/24/17: 10:35 pm

And now for something that will make you laugh… The Netherlands is doing a wonderful job making the world just a bit better today. (For one thing, they seem to be making an international abortion fund to counterbalance the devastating impact of Trump putting the global gag rule back in place.)

[Included link to video: The Netherlands Welcomes Trump in His Own Words.]

1/25/17: 4:07 pm

Dear New York friends,

I need you to help convince Senator Schumer to vote against Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education.

Unless I’m missing something, Senator Schumer has not said whether he’ll be voting for or against her. As I’ve said before, speaking as a public school special education teacher, she terrifies me. She wants guns in schools and she doesn’t understand the law about educating kids with disabilities.

Please, please, PLEASE call one of his offices and let him know you insist he vote against her. I can’t post all the numbers from my phone, but I reached a not-yet-full voicemail at the Syracuse number: 315-423-5471.

1/25/17: 6:35 pm

FYI, there is now a rogue national park twitter account: AltNatParkSer and also a rogue NASA account: RogueNASA

[First comment, mine: Also Alt_NASA.]

[Second comment, mine: Apparently, there are now fourteen of these. Thanks to NAME REDACTED for sharing this: https://mobile.twitter.com/Stollm…/lists/twistance/members]

1/25/17: 7:04 pm

For those of us getting overwhelmed by all of the Very Bad Stuff that’s been happening lately and feeling like we can’t possibly do enough to fight back, here’s some advice on how to resist without burning out. I’m still working on figuring out which issues I want to direct my energy toward. But in the meantime, I’ll continue to make my bed every morning and try not to feel guilty about all of the causes I’m neglecting.

[Included this link: How to #StayOutraged Without Losing Your Mind.]

1/26/17: 11:14 pm

Tomorrow is Friday. After that comes the weekend. Trump said something about not working weekends, right? That means we get two whole days to catch our breath before heading into next week. (Dear President Trump, please take the weekend off… the rest of us need a few days to recover from all the damage you’ve done this week.)

1/28/17: 7:32 pm

I’m so grateful to have had a wonderful Shabbat in which I got to spend 25 hours away from social media. Politics and the current state of the world was definitely not absent from my Shabbat experience. I heard two Divrei Torah (teaching related to Torah, in this case the weekly Torah portion) this weekend that related back to the current state of our country. And I had so many conversations. But still, it was a break. And then, Shabbat ended and I turned on the computer, and… I don’t even have words. Dear crowd rallying at JFK: I wish I could be there with you. I hope I can make it next time. I hope there *isn’t* a next time. This can’t possibly be our country. Where is our real country? I want it back please.

[First comment, mine: (And yes, I know. The current situation is partly a sign that things weren’t great before. We were just doing a better job of hiding it.)]

1/28/17: 7:49 pm

Hey, Brooklyn:

I’m hearing that JFK isn’t letting in more protesters, and that there’s now a protest in Cadman Plaza (where an emergency hearing began at 7:30). So if you’re not at the airport and want to protest against the immigration ban, that’s the place to be. I think I’ll be heading there soon myself.

1/28/17: 11:13 pm

The advice for how not to burn out while being an activist said to choose one or two issues to focus on. Well, as of this evening, immigrants and refugees are at the top of my list. I’m giving serious consideration to attending this rally/march tomorrow (Sunday). Who wants to join me?

[Included the link to March & Rally: We Will End the Refugee & Muslim Ban]

1/28/17: 12:28 am (1/29)

When Shabbat ended, I went online for the first time in 25 hours… and reality hit hard. I read about Trump’s immigration ban, and it made me cringe. But I also read about the huge protest at JFK airport and other airports, and about the lawyers setting up shop in airport terminals, and about the lawsuit being filed in federal court by the ACLU and other organizations. Because of Shabbat, getting to JFK wasn’t in the cards for me, but I heard about another protest outside the federal courthouse right near me in Downtown Brooklyn. So I went. I protested. I witnessed. I cheered for victory. And then I came home and made a donation to CAIR, which works to help Muslims in this country. (I already have ACLU and National Immigration Law Center on my list of 2016 donations. ACLU especially may get more money from me soon.) Tomorrow, there’s a protest march that begins at Battery Park City, and I’m most likely going to attend that one too. Every day, I go to work in Downtown Manhattan. I see the Statue of Liberty in the distance at least a few times a week. On Thursday, looking at it, knowing its promise now rings false, made me sad. We are a city of immigrants. We are a nation of immigrants. We are a haven for refugees – or we’re supposed to be. As a Jew, protecting the refugees is extra important to me. After all, how many times have we, ourselves, been refugees? How many times have Jews died because no one was willing to take them in? So I’ll be protesting with my feet and with my mouth and with my money. Because, as Jews, #WeveSeenThisBefore and #NeverAgainIsNow. What are *you* doing to ensure that immigrants and refugees are still welcome here? I hope you’re doing something.

1/29/17: 11:36 am

Last night, I protested with my feet and with my voice. Today, I will also protest with my feet and my voice. (Battery Park, 2 PM, for those who are local.) But before that, I have protested with my wallet. Last night, I made a one-time donation to CAIR, the Council on American-Islamic Relations. This morning, I made a one-time donation to IRAP, the International Refugee Assistance Project. I also set up a recurring donation to the ACLU. All three of these organizations are working to protect the rights of refugees. If you have money to give, I strongly urge you to give too. If you live in America, chances are you are here because someone in your family was able to immigrate to this country. In many cases, that someone was a refugee. When we turn away the world’s most vulnerable, we are sending them back home to die. So I strongly urge you to give if you can, whether of your time or of your money, or of both.

1/29/17: 8:43 pm

“Never Again is Now” – one side of my sign from the protest in Battery Park.

img_8229

1/29/17: 8:44 pm

Protest against Trump’s immigration ban. A crowd of protestors marching down Greenwich St, with Battery Park behind us and One World Trade visible ahead. It meant something extra to me that we were marching toward a place where over 2,000 people died because of terrorists that came from foreign countries, and yet here we are, telling President Trump that we don’t want to ban people from *any* country.

img_8297

1/30/17 7:ooish am (facebook is telling me “14 hours ago”)

Check out today’s Google Doodle: Fred Korematsu. He fought against the establishment of Japanese internment camps.

1/30/17: 8:46 pm

I’m hearing rumors that the next executive order to come out will be something anti-LGBT. And realizing that the anxiety feels different when the target is *me.* Guess LGBT rights is now my second big issue to fight for.

*********

Craigslist ad text (in case the ad disappears):

Cards Against Humanity, the #1 best-selling party game, is hiring a new CEO!

Let’s face it: we have no idea what we’re doing. This year, we wasted an enormous amount of time and 
energy trying to get Hillary Clinton elected President, and on Black Friday we dug a huge hole in the 
ground because we wanted to find out if it would be funny. It’s been a great run, but now it’s time 
for real adult leadership.

Requirements

We are seeking a highly qualified executive to run our company who meets the following requirements:

– Strong public speaking skills
– Steady disposition, remains cool under pressure
– Willing to inherit the consequences of eight years of irresponsible spending
– Excellent negotiator able to deal with stubborn opposition
– Experience hunting terrorist masterminds
– Minimum eight years experience President of the United States of America or equivalent nation
– Strongly prefer the first black editor of Harvard Law Review
– Must currently hold a national approval rating of 57.2% or higher
– Passed comprehensive healthcare reform
– Natural born citizen of the United States
– Proficient in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint

The ideal candidate will be excited to travel for work and be a recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Women and minorities are strongly encouraged to apply.

What’s In It for You?

If you are the right candidate, we will award you 51% of our company and you can set your own salary.

Benefits include:

– Health/dental/vision insurance (while available)
– Generous vacation time
– A new computer
– Pre-tax transit benefit
– Access to office pantry with unlimited almonds

Paid relocation to Chicago is available.
 Also, you can be our new Dad if you want (optional but strongly preferred).

About the Company

Cards Against Humanity is a game company based in Chicago, IL with about 30 employees. We run a coworking space for independent artists, a full-ride scholarship for women getting degrees in STEM fields, a political action committee, an international shipping company, a private island, and a castle in Ireland. We’ve also raised nearly $5 million for our nonprofit partners: the Wikimedia Foundation, the Sunlight Foundation, Electronic Frontier Foundation, and DonorsChoose.org, where Cards Against Humanity has funded over 13,000 teacher projects in high-poverty classrooms across the United States.

Interested?

If you meet our qualifications, please email mail@cardsagainsthumanity.com.

  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don’t contact this job poster.
  • do NOT contact us with unsolicited services or offers]
Leave a Reply

