What did I read in 2013?

Once again, I kept track of all of the books I read in the past year. In 2013, I read 64 books, but I also discovered audiobooks, and listened to 17 of them. Because this is my list, and I get to make the rules, I’ve decided to be a little flexible this year. There was one dead tree book, and one audiobook that I had almost but not quite finished on December 31. (In the case of the printed book, I had about eight pages left.) I finished both on January 1, and both are included on this list, since I read/listened to the majority of each one in 2013.

My current version of Pages lets me make pie charts. Unfortunately, it limits said pie charts to six colors, and I read books in more than six categories this year, so please excuse the repeating colors. Here’s a breakdown of what I read:

Image

Note: All of the Young Adult and Middle Grades books were also some form of speculative fiction. Which is to say, the vast majority of what I read this year was some form of speculative fiction. I was surprised to see that I read more science fiction than fantasy this year, though the numbers may have turned out differently if I had subdivided the YA books. These numbers may also have something to do with the fact that I read or reread every single book in the Miles Vorkosigan series at least once this year, which may have skewed the ratio. (Then again, I also reread the entire October Daye series, which is Urban Fantasy, so maybe that balanced things out a bit in the other direction.)

I also kept track of where I got my reading materials from. This year was also the first time I read entire novels in ebook format, because I purchased a supporting membership to WorldCon in order to get all of the reading materials that came in the Hugo voter packet (the official name of which I can’t recall).

So here’s where my books were from in 2013:

Image

Note: Goddard means the discount book sale at Goddard Riverside Community Center. It happens once a year, and is a fundraiser for the community center. Publishers donate books, which are then sold for 50% off. The price drops further (as does the selection) as the end of the sale approaches.

(I’m also noticing that one of my columns didn’t make it into the chart. I got one book for free this year from a friend, and it isn’t represented above.)

The amazing thing about this one is that it shows just how heavily I rely on my (amazing) local library for reading materials.

I enjoyed the vast majority of the books I read (and listened to) this year, and I’d like to write about my favorites, but I’m going to save that for another entry.

Leave a Reply

