The Research in Revision

When I can, I enjoy doing my writing work in the community garden across the street. Today, the garden was too chilly for me, so I worked inside. This turned out to be a good thing, because I don’t have internet access in the garden. Usually, that’s a good thing, but today’s revisions involved research.

Today, I Googled the following topics:

1) The range of dates within which Columbus Day can fall (Anywhere from October 8th to October 14th)

2) When the leaves generally start falling in Northern NJ. (Yes, there can be leaves on the ground in mid-October)

3) Sunset for October 12th in the general vicinity of NYC (6:22. And I used my prior knowledge to determine that this meant the sun would touch the treetops around 6:00, which was the more important piece of information in this case.)

I also took advantage of the hive mind on facebook, where I asked about Jewish mourning practices of less observant Jews. I only posted the question a few hours ago, and I already have 32 comments – though some of them are mine.

Usually, it’s good to be away from the internet while writing, but sometimes, the internet is your friend.

Leave a Reply

